On January 16, 2024, the Sakurada-kai Foundation held the 42nd Sakurada-kai Awards Ceremony for Political Research and Grant Presentation Ceremony at the Imperial Hotel Tokyo.



Katsuhiko Masuda, the president of the Sakurada-kai Foundation

The Sakurada-kai Special Achievement Award for Political Studies was presented to Toshikazu Inoue, Professor of Gakushuin University, and the Sakurada-kai Incentive Award was presented to Masayuki Karasudani, Professor of Keio University.



Professor Inoue, Gakushuin University



Prof. Karasudani, Keio University

<Gold medal was awarded to Prof. Inoue for his book 'Yabe Teiji' (Chuko Shinsha), above right, Siver medal was awarded to Prof. Karasudani for his book 'Politics of Symbolization,' (Shinyo-sha)>

The Academic Book of political Studies' Publication Grant was awarded to Reiko Tsuchiya, Professor at Waseda University, for the book titled 'Media and Intelligence during the Occupation.'

The Joint Political Research Grant was awarded to Professor Naoto Nonaka of Gakushuin University, leader of the joint research, for the research themed 'Japan's Parliamentary Politics Analyzed through History and Data.'



Reiko Tsuchiya, Prof. Waseda University



Naoto Nonaka, Prof. of Gakushuin University

The Political Research Grants were awarded to eighteen researchers from eight universities.



















Professor Inoue gave an acknowledgement speech for the award, followed by a lecture about the book titled 'Rikken Minseito Zenshi- the complete history of Rikken Minseito Party 'written by a group of academic researchers led by Professor Inoue, commemorating the 90<sup>th</sup> anniversary of the Sakurada-kai Foundation.





Chairperson Nakamura, the Selection Committee of the Sakurada-kai Award gives general comments.

The ceremony was attended by about seventy people, including guests.

After the ceremony, the reception was held for the first time in four years.















Front row from left:

Nozawa Chie (Meiji), Shuto Yoshiki (Gakushuin), Yokoyama Tomoya (Gakushuin), Tsuchiya Reiko (Waseda), Nakamura Akira (Chairperson of Review and Selection Committee), Inoue Toshikazu (Gakushuin), Karasudani Masayuki (Keio), Masuda Katsuhiko (President of Sakurada-kai Foundation), Nonaka Naoto (Gakushuin), Tsuchiyama Kimie (Hosei), Lee Sebon (Seikei)

Back row from left:

Suzuki Takashi (Nihon), Iwai Yoshikazu (Nihon), Nishiyama Takayuki (Seikei), Oku Kentaro (Keio), Miyaoka Isao (Keio), Okubo Takeharu (Keio), Takahashi Toru (Chuo), Hayashi Reona (Hosei), Umemori Naoyuki (Waseda), Yazawa Masashi (Waseda)



The Award ceremony held at the Sakurada-kai office on January 25.

Front row from left, Kobayashi Tetsuro, Professor of Waseda University, Katsuhiko Masuda, the president of the Sakurada-kai Foundation, Takechi Hideyuki, Professor of Chuo University